Watchic Lake Association

Watchic Lake Association

Annual Member Meeting Minutes, July 6, 2019

The meeting was called to order by President Paul McNulty at 9:30 a.m. at Standish Municipal Center. A certificate of mailing was filed with the secretary, with the meeting notice mailed on June 24, 2019. A quorum was established with 50 members present.

Paul presented a brief PowerPoint summary of the work directed by the board and various committees over the past year, including dam maintenance and runoff mitigation. Cathy Watson, Water Quality Committee chair, spoke about monitoring water quality. Steve Lajoie, Environmental Committee chair, spoke about the annual plant patrol and patrolling avoiding invasive plant species. Kim Lajoie gave an update on loons on the lake, noting that we have two nesting pairs on the west end of the lake, with one chick recently hatched. Martha Drew, chair of the LakeSmart Committee, presented awards to Bob and Terry Babcock, Joanne Majka, and Brian Strathman.

A new fundraising initiative to support the long term health of the lake, was introduced by Paul. Money donated to The Stewardship Fund will be used for larger projects, outside the scope of general operations, and reserves for an immediate invasive species infestation or "100-year storm" response. Donations to the fund can be made through the WatchicLake.org website.

July 20 was announced for the Maine Audubon Loon Count. July 27 was announced as the second annual "Ice Cream Boat Day", when volunteers will delivery free ice cream cups around the lake. August 10 was announced as the fourth annual plant inventory day and August 31 for the second annual Watchic Lake Tie-Up.

Maggie Burns, a hydrologist with FB Environmental, spoke about the ongoing water quality monitoring and a new watershed protection plan. The last WLA survey was done in 1999, and this new survey will guide major projects for the WLA and help in securing grants. Her presentation can be found in the Annual Meeting section of the Watchic Lake website.

The financial reports for the year ending June 30, 2019, were reviewed. Patty Guenthner made a motion, seconded by Don Drew, to waive reading the minutes of the July 7, 2018 meeting, and approve them as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

Martha Drew presented the proposed nominations - to the board: Paul McNulty (3 years), Agnes Wiggin (3 years), Stacey Kane (3 years), Terry Fay-Babcock (3 years), Bob Babcock (1 year); for officers – Owen Smith, President (2 years), Steve Lajoie, Vice-President (2 years), Martha Drew, Historian (2 years), Martha Drew, Secretary (1 year). Motion made by Rick Wiggin, seconded by Joanne Majka, that the secretary cast one ballot for all nominations as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

Steve and Kim Lajoie presented the Unsung Hero award to Dave Bradbury, for his 18 years of service on the Board. Dave was instrumental in rebuilding the dam, designing the runoff remediation systems along Rte 113, addressing erosion on Hi-Vu, and much, much more.

The meeting adjourned at 11:10 a.m. by unanimous vote, on a motion made by Donal Drew and seconded by Isabel Higgins.

Respectfully submitted,

Martha Drew, Secretary, Watchic Lake Association