June 19, 2021, 8am – 3pm, Kiwanis Beach Club (outside, under canopies)
State of Maine Boating Safety Course – Sponsored by the WLA
With ever increasing numbers of boaters on Maine lakes in everything from canoes to paddle boats to outboards, understanding safe and courteous watercraft use helps make all lakes, including Watchic Lake a safer and more environmentally friendly place to be. The WLA and the Town of Standish have partnered with the Maine Inland Fisheries and Wildlife to bring the Maine State Approved Boating Course to Standish.
This boating education course will teach how to properly operate and maintain a boat. Course components include:
- Proper Operation and Safety (Boating Handling-Equipment-Trailering) = 3 Hours
- Laws = 30 Minutes
- Emergencies and Survival (cold water) = 40 Minutes
- Self Help First Aid = 20 Minutes
- Environment/Ethics = 90 minutes
How to Register
Registration Fee: $10.00* (includes lunch). Registration is required by June 14, 2021.
*Persons under the age of 18 are free if registered with a paying/attending adult. The minimum age to take the course is 10 years old.
To register, go to Standish Parks and Rec Registration (you may need to create a household account). Payment can be made by credit card. To receive the wallet card, legal name and date of birth are required for each student.
Questions regarding registration, please call the Standish Rec Department at 207-642-2875. If you have questions regarding the course, please call Terry Fay-Babcock at 207-650-5240 or at email@example.com.
The maximum class size is 30 registrants. If the class is cancelled due to inclement weather, a make-up date will be provided.
To help us plan materials and refreshments we require registration prior to the event.
Passage of a final exam is required. At the completion of the class, students will receive a State of Maine NABLA (National Association of State Boating Law Administrators) boating safety cards that is recognized in all 50 states. To view the details of this course on the State of Maine Website, please go to: https://www.maine.gov/ifw/programs-resources/safety-courses/boating-safety.html
Note: Persons 16 years of age and under 18 years of age MAY NOT operate a personal watercraft unless they possess on their person, identification showing proof of age and proof of successful completion of a NASBLA approved boating safety course unless they are accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who physically occupies the personal watercraft.